Effective Urban Educator: Reflective, Innovative and Committed to Diversity

My philosophy will be based on cognitivism. Cognitivism is basically saying that if we can recall, understand, evaluate, etc. a concept then we have learned it. It sees the mind as a computer. With a computer we input information and later we can pull up that information for other uses. The same applies to the mind. We are given information from various sources and later when we need to apply that information to a situation occurring in our lives we recall it and do so appropriately; therefore we have learned it.

This philosophy would be demonstrated in my teachings by using different aids to give my lessons. The aids I choose will be designed to assist visual, auditory, and kinesthetic learners. Everyone does not interpret information the same so I would need a variety to make sure I am able to get through to almost every (if not all) student. For instance, if I were teaching a math lesson on addition and subtraction to a group of first graders I would begin with telling them orally, then showing them visually, and then finishing off my lesson by showing them how to do addition and subtraction with helpful tools. They will store that information and when it is time for them to apply it to new problems they will be able to reach into their minds and recall the information that I previously relayed to them.

The students will lean under this philosophy by first be telling them what it means to add and subtract. My auditory learners would most likely pick up on everything I am telling them and being to store that information in their brains. After I finish my lecture on addition and subtraction I would show them on the board in the classroom how it is done. My visual learners would be able to see what I am doing and store that information in their brains. Lastly, I would give the students something to touch like counting blocks, straws, etc. and show them that they could use these to actually see what it is to add and subtract. The kinesthetic learners in my class would enjoy this very much because they would be able to interact which in turn leads them to storing that information. After my lesson on addition and subtraction I would give them a few problems to work through. Each of my students should then be able to recall what they learned and apply it to these new problems they have before them and if they have then my cognitivism approach has worked.

I would be an effective urban educator because I would start by getting to know the different types of students I am teaching. No two students are the same and it is important for me to realize that before I step into the classroom. I have to expect that my students are going to come from all different types of backgrounds. They will diff in gender, race, ethnicity, religion, sexual orientation, economic backgrounds, and disabilities and capabilities. My teaching style will have to be able to adjust to the many different types of students that I come into contact with. All of these difference will have an effect on each students learning abilities and it’s safe to say the only thing that every student will have in common is the fact they will be in my class and I will be trying my best to meet all of their needs. I know it’s possible for me not too but that doesn’t mean I will not try because once we are in that classroom it is my job to make sure they all have the same opportunity at receiving and equal education. 

Leave a Reply

